Electricity Regulation

‚ÄčThe National Energy Customer Framework (NECF) is under the jurisdiction of the Australian Energy Regulator (AER), as regulator and enforcement body, and the Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC) as rule maker.

The national energy retail objective is to promote efficient investment in, and efficient operation and use of, energy services for the long term interests of consumers of energy with respect to price, quality, safety, reliability and security of supply of energy.

Further information about the NECF and regulation of retail electricity markets in Australia is available on the retail markets section of the AER's website.


Australian Energy Regulator (AER)

The AER is a Commonwealth statutory body and the primary regulator under the National Electricity Law in all jurisdictions except Western Australia.

Electricity retailing is now authorised and regulated nationally by the AER, allowing a retailer to obtain one authorisation to operate nationally across all participating jurisdictions, rather than the six separate retail licences that would previously have been required.

The AER's website is: www.aer.gov.au


Tasmanian Economic Regulator (TER)

The TER remains responsible for the administration of the Electricity Supply Industry Act 1995 (ESI Act), the Tasmanian Electricity Code and other related regulatory instruments.

The TER will continue to administer the electricity licensing and compliance regime for generation, transmission, distribution and, on the Bass Strait Islands, retail. The TER retains most of its performance, reliability and incident monitoring and reporting responsibilities. Special reports and other prescribed functions, including retail price determinations, are undertaken by the TER as required.

The TER's website is: www.economicregulator.tas.gov.au


COAG Energy Council

The Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Energy Council is a Ministerial forum for the Commonwealth, states and territories and New Zealand, to work together in the pursuit of national energy reforms.

The COAG Energy Council  website is www.coagenergycouncil.gov.au

Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC)

The AEMC is the rule making body for the current National Electricity Rules.

The AEMC website is: www.aemc.gov.au

Back Home